Why why is why we win

And why it is time for a change

Hey you,

Today's Listening: A little vibe

Do you know why I always start with "Hey you"? Because I'm talking to you, and I want you to know it.

Why do I always put a "Today's Listening"? Because I love music, and I love to share it.

And why do I write these newsletters at all? This…took me some time to understand.

This time of year always seems to stir up people's hopes and dreams, their greatest fears and desires. Sometimes those things end up on shopping lists. Sometimes they end up on more…personal lists.

Taking the time to introspect and prioritize what you are doing and why is a criminally underrated activity. People talk of being lost, adrift at sea. They are floating while being relentlessly crushed by wave after wave. The feeling of barely treading water, it can be terrifying.

And I think we all feel that way at one point or another.

But the thing that helps me, is writing.

When I put my thoughts into words on paper (or screen), it becomes real. Words are something that I can see, something to be addressed. So I create a list, I write every single thing that is happening in my life. I face it.

I'm still adrift, continually pummeled by the waves. But now, I am clinging to a pole, a pole extending infinitely down to the deepest depths of the ocean I cannot see. But it is something to hold to.

And I still will get hit, I will get thrashed about, but I holdfast to my pole. And with my head above the water, I can watch the waves roll in, and face them head on.

So, why do I write these newsletters? Because it makes my work real. Tangible.

Writing forces me to confront what I think I know, and prove it to you. You are an essential part of this formula, my rants aren’t just heard by me. You keep me honest, you keep me real.

So what's next for this newsletter? I'm going to write about games, about thoughts, about game thoughts, and just about anything in between.

If you consider yourself a game enthusiast of any caliber, stick around ;)

Subscribe for brownie points

Share for an entire batch of brownie points

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Just in Development to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now