🎄 Holidays and how to make time stop

cheat codes on the back of the newsletter

Hey you,

Today's Listening: A spin on the classic

Time is...speedy.

And it feels like everything around me is rushing past Time at Mach 20.

And maybe I'm just getting older, but I swear it feels like 4 years...(looks at AI) 8 years worth of stuff has happened since the last time I put up this tree.

Who else finds holidays to be either the most relaxing, or most stressful part of the year? present shopping, planning the family gathering, preparing for what the next year holds...

Oh, and some of us still have work by the way. I think frantic is my holiday word this year.

When I hear holiday time, I'm not thinking about hot chocolate and sleeping till noon. I'm thinking about all the time I'll have to tackle projects...while also juggling the family gatherings, present shopping and dozens of other social obligations my life contains during this season.

Am I complaining?

Not at all, this is one of my favorite times of year.

The holidays are when the world is made new with cheer. The people we see may carry on with us. The gifts we receive may define our days to come. And the memories we make, inspire us to repeat this pattern...year after year.

The holidays are when time seems like it is moving faster than ever before.

But for me, putting up that tree, it sends me back to a time where time meant little. Family caroling tells me time is exactly where it needs to be. Crowding around a TV, watching a ball fall, sends my mind ahead to what could be, acknowledging what, in time, may be.

It is a checkpoint, a milestone, a chance to look back and see.

The holidays are a time, to reflect upon what this year meant to me. And what the next might be.

And if you ever wanted to dream, there's no better time to see.

Subscribe for brownie points

Share for an entire batch of brownie points

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Just in Development to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now