🎩 A Hat in Time and Whimsy

la da, la da...la da da da!

Hey kid,

Today's Listening: New Adventure

Remember playing (insert childhood nostalgia game here)?

I think all of us have a game in our past that may have been trash, but somehow still the most enjoyable thing we did everyday after school.

For me, it was Pitfall: The Lost Expedition and Rayman 2. Those games were absolutely delights to my child self as I ran around collecting whatever and failing at very simple instructions and platforming puzzles repeatedly. (If anyone remembers that waterfall jump from Rayman 2, I think I spent hours there, I have trauma send help lol)

So if you too pine for the days of playing a silly little game and falling hopelessly in love, may I recommend...A Hat in Time

While this may be a child of our times, she was raised right.

This little game brought me more childlike joy in the first hour than any other game in the last 5 years. Everything has that...childlike fun aura surrounding it. The colors are bright but not too bright. The characters are silly but speak in layers with their dialogue. And, it is an absolute joy to play as the MC, with a move set comparable to Super Mario Odyssey's.

But above all, it is simply fun. Everything is snappy, flashy and immediate. It satisfies the inner child inside that is still looking for their crayons and markers.

It is so reminiscent of the older games because there is no overbearing narrative, no grinding and filled with whimsy. It features 5 (+ 2 DLC) different worlds, and they are all filled with creative and entertaining missions that still stick with me (Anyone for Vanessa's manor? 😅) Also, the music, as with all my recommendations, is an absolute treat, it has no right being so joyful. (hype fuel here)

And the voice acting is top notch, with some absolutely iconic performances I will not spoil for you.

This is one of those criminally low profile games that deserve so much love and of all the games I may talk about here, this one gets my unequivocal seal of approval. If for some outlandish reason you don't like it, someone else in your life will. Share the gift. (and the newsletter while you're at it 😉)

So imma just link the steam page here...(It is also on Switch, PS and Xbox)

Subscribe for brownie points

Share for an entire batch of brownie points

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Just in Development to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now