To the end of what be

Hey you,

It is 11:01 PM.

The people outside are cheering, the night is light and lively. The people inside are clapping, the sound

It is about this time though, when it all sets in. Another year has come and gone.

Some people argue New Years is meaningless, and tomorrow is yet another day no different than the last. And I think they are right.

But they are also so very wrong.

Life is exactly what we make of it, what we call it, and decide to do with it. If you say New Years means nothing, congratulations, you've robbed yourself of that joy.

Because out of all the emotions we can experience, joy is the one we control the most, and the hardest time creating.

Being scared is simple, angry is easy, and indifferent is honestly not that hard.

But joy is that little seed, the one you set in the ground and either continued to feed it, or left it to wither. Either you make the choice to water that seed, or glare at it because it never sprouted. Watch it grow, or trampled it.

I wish to thank the people, that helped me grow that seed.

To my insane housemates, you continue to be my constant, my unwavering support, my true home.

To my dizzying dreamers, your thoughts fill me with wonder, and keeps my spirit alight.

To my crazy cohort, we did it, we made the win, and I would do it all again.

To my forever friends, how your words slap me with comfort and glee, I may never fully understand.

To my Lord almighty, your presence is my friend, your words accompany my rhapsody.

To my wholesome homies, you are absolute fools, how dare you be so good to me.

To the one I called at 12:01 AM, thank you...again.

To 2023, you hold so many memories, enough to fill a treasury.

Let the new year ring, I'll never be ready.

But ready as I can be.

Subscribe for brownie points

Share for an entire batch of brownie points

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Just in Development to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now