0️⃣ NaNoWriMo - Beginning

From blank page to first steps

Hey you,

Today's Listening: Chill vibes

The dark figure tilted their head, "Ah, where are my manners?" and, perched on the edge of the rooftop, stepped off.

Any creative can tell you that the beginning is the hardest part.

Once you get past the beginning, ideas start to smash together. Characters become fleshed out, leading the narrative. And you start linking threads together, as if destined.

But that beginning is the hardest.

I'm using NaNoWriMo to expand on a world I've been slowly crafting for the past year or so. As with most of my creative passions, they start in my head, and if they stick around long enough, they find their way to paper.

The cool part about creating a new world, is you can kind of approach it however you like. What is the physical world like? Are there intangible forces like magic or funky spirit energy? Is there a god here? Multiple gods? How many different types of people are there? Are there animals? Do people need to breathe? How could these difference create an unique reality?

These are all great questions when creating a space for a game. But for a novel, you need characters. You can have an elaborately crafted world, an incredible magic system, and endless mysteries. But if the characters suck, I'm sorry you are not keeping my attention.

I love reading, it is a wonderfully blissful activity for me. But what separates the good books from my favorite books is the characters.

Characters are what push a narrative forward. They are what create change in the world. They are what I get attached to.

You could create a wholly evocative, soul touching story with just two people living in a void. If the people are written well.

So how did I start my story? Oh I had a world, but I started with a character.

"Just one more..."

Satire Glean leaned precariously from the scaffolding dividing him from the ground fifteen feet below.

Subscribe for brownie points

Share for an entire batch of brownie points

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Just in Development to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now